Four Chronicle members receive international recognition

Each spring, Youth Journalism International “spotlights the best work by teen reporters, artists and photographers through our Excellence in Journalism contest”, choosing between entries from young journalists all throughout the world. The Chronicle had four staff members receive awards from Youth Journalism International.


For their story “The Power of Choice”staff writers Abbey Marshall and Ariel Jones earned:

Abbey Marshall: Finalist – Courage in Journalism
Ariel Jones: Finalist – Courage in Journalism
Abbey Marshall: Honorable Mention – Feature Writing Team
Ariel Jones: Honorable Mention – Feature Writing Team
The Chronicle: Finalist – Courage in Journalism

IMG_2677For her column “8,397“, staff writer Abbey Marshall earned:
Abbey Marshall: Honorable Mention – Column

IMG_2690For her feature story “Transformed“, online editor Gina Deaton earned:
Gina Deaton: Honorable Mention – Feature Writing

For his photo “Showtime“, staff writer Matthew Marvar earned:
Matthew Marvar: Honorable Mention – News Photo